TARGET CONSUMER: Readers of offbeat illustrated humor books like Awkward Yeti, Poorly Drawn Lines, All My Friends Are Dead. Fans of Tales of the Crypt comics and TV show, Black Mirror, and The Twilight Zone. Fans of Cuddles and Rage (the authors). Hungry for humor? Tuck into these darkly funny horror stories starring creepy-cute food folk, presented in a photographed diorama-comic format that brings the stories to colorfully disturbing life. Inspired by Tales from the Crypt and perfect fare for readers of All My Friends are Dead and Awkward Yeti. From an ice cream cone who makes a deal with the devil('s food cake), to a moldy strawberry who wants one last dip in a bowl of cream, Bites of Terror offers ten macabre, hilarious tales featuring adorable anthropomorphic food characters caught in horror story scenarios complete with twist endings. Each tale is introduced by your horrible host, the Cake Creeper, a partially eaten groom's cake with an agenda of his own. And because presentation is so important for every meal, the stories are told in "diorama comic" format: they read like a comic or graphic novel, but instead of drawings, the images are photographs of sculpted characters, looking good enough to eat and staged on custom-made sets full of fascinating details. You'll be tempted to reach into the pages and save the cute food people from their fates...but you can't. In the tradition of Tales from the Crypt and other classic horror comics, Bites of Terror proves that horror and humor are a tasty combination. Hilarious horror stories featuring cute characters and twist endings. Visually unique: Reads like a graphic novel, but with photographs instead of drawings. Tone and humor will appeal to readers of offbeat humor comics like the Awkward Yeti books, All My Friends are Dead, and Poorly Drawn Lines. Will be a hit with horror movie fans and fans of the Tales from the Crypt franchise. Great gift for the baker or foodie in your life who has a quirky sense of humor or loves food puns.

Specs

  • 144 pages
  • 7.5 x 10 inches
  • 4 colors
  • Hardcover

Rights available for...

  • Dutch
  • French